Churn Rate
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Churn rate (also known as attrition rate, turnover, customer turnover, or customer defection) is a measure of the proportion of individuals or items moving out of a group over a specific period. It is one of two primary factors that determine the
steady-state In systems theory, a system or a process is in a steady state if the variables (called state variables) which define the behavior of the system or the process are unchanging in time. In continuous time, this means that for those properties ''p'' ...
level of customers a business will support. Churn is widely applied in business for contractual customer bases. Examples include a subscriber-based service model as used by
mobile telephone A mobile phone or cell phone is a portable telephone that allows users to make and receive calls over a radio frequency link while moving within a designated telephone service area, unlike fixed-location phones ( landline phones). This radio ...
networks and
pay TV Pay television, also known as subscription television, premium television or, when referring to an individual service, a premium channel, refers to subscription-based television services, usually provided by multichannel television providers, b ...
operators. Churn rate can also be the input into
customer lifetime value In marketing, customer lifetime value (CLV or often CLTV), lifetime customer value (LCV), or life-time value (LTV) is a prognostication of the net profit contributed to the whole future relationship with a customer. The prediction model can have ...
modeling and used to measure
return on marketing investment Return may refer to: In business, economics, and finance * Return on investment (ROI), the financial gain after an expense. * Rate of return, the financial term for the profit or loss derived from an investment * Tax return, a blank document or ...
with
marketing mix modeling Marketing Mix Modeling (MMM) is a forecasting methodology used to estimate the impact of various marketing tactic scenarios on product sales. MMMs use statistical models, such as multivariate regressions, and use sales and marketing time-seri ...
. The term comes from the image of agitation of cream in a butter churn.


Calculation

Churn rate is calculated by dividing the total number of individuals, customers, or items lost during a period divided by total number of individuals during the same period. \text=\frac*100 = \frac * 100 For example, if your company lost 50 customers in month, while having a total of 500 customers at the start of the month, the total churn rate is 10% (50/500*100 = 10%). An alternative calculation for churn is to divide by the number of customers acquired during the same time period, rather than total number of customers.


Customer base churn

Churn rate, when applied to a customer base, is the proportion of contractual customers or subscribers who leave a supplier during a given period. It may indicate customer dissatisfaction, cheaper and/or better offers from the competition, more successful sales and/or marketing by the competition, or reasons having to do with the customer life cycle. Churn is closely related to the concept of average customer life time. For example, an annual churn rate of 25 percent implies an average customer life of four years. An annual churn rate of 33 percent implies an average customer life of three years. The churn rate can be minimized by creating barriers which discourage customers to change suppliers (contractual binding periods, use of proprietary technology, value-added services, unique business models, etc.), or through retention activities such as loyalty programs. It is possible to overstate the churn rate, as when a consumer drops the service but then restarts it within the same year. Thus, a clear distinction needs to be made between "gross churn", the total number of absolute disconnections, and "net churn", the overall loss of subscribers or members. The difference between the two measures is the number of new subscribers or members that have joined during the same period. Suppliers may find that if they offer a loss-leader "introductory special", it can lead to a higher churn rate and subscriber abuse, as some subscribers will sign on, let the service lapse, then sign on again to take continuous advantage of current specials. When talking about subscribers or customers, sometimes the expression "survival rate" is used to mean 1 minus the churn rate. For example, for a group of subscribers, an annual churn rate of 25 percent is the same as an annual survival rate of 75 percent. Both imply a customer lifetime of four years because a customer lifetime can be calculated as the inverse of that customer's predicted churn rate. For a group or segment of customers, their customer life (or tenure) is the inverse of their aggregate churn rate. Gompertz distribution models of distribution of customer life times can therefore also predict a distribution of churn rates. For companies with a fast-growing customer base (e.g., digital media companies in a BCG-matrix problem child or star phase), confusion can arise between the statistical analyses associated with what percentage of the whole customer base churns in a given yearWhat percentage of the base of subscribers in all of 2010 churned out?versus a particular customer cohort's churn rate. For example: Taking those customers who subscribed in given month, say January 2010How many had churned out by January 2011? Examining churn for a fast-growing aggregated customer base will understate the true churn rate compared to cohort based approach to the calculation. The cohort based approach will also allow you to calculate the survival rate and the average customer life, whereas the aggregate approach can not calculate these two metrics. Researchers at Deloitte have argued that
social network analysis Social network analysis (SNA) is the process of investigating social structures through the use of networks and graph theory. It characterizes networked structures in terms of ''nodes'' (individual actors, people, or things within the network) ...
is a good tool to calculate churn. In recent years, using AI and machine-learning as a means to calculate customer churn has become increasingly common for large retailers and service providers. The phrase "rotational churn" is used to describe the phenomenon where a customer churns and immediately rejoins. This is common in prepaid mobile phone services, where existing customers may take up a new subscription from their current provider in order to avail of special offers only available to new customers. In most circumstances churn is seen as indicating that customers are dissatisfied with a service. However, in some industries whose services delivers on a promise, churn is considered as a positive signal, such as the health care services, weight loss services and online dating platforms. Some researchers have disputed the simple assumption that just dissatisfaction would lead customers to churn, and called for a more nuanced approach.


See also

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Turnover (employment) In human resources, turnover refers to the employees who leave an organization. The ''turnover rate'' is the percentage of the total workforce that leave over a given period. Organizations and industries typically measure turnover for a fiscal or ...
*
Customer attrition Customer attrition, also known as customer churn, customer turnover, or customer defection, is the loss of clients or customers. Companies often use customer attrition analysis and customer attrition rates as one of their key business metrics (alo ...
*
Customer retention Customer retention refers to the ability of a company or product to retain its customers over some specified period. High customer retention means customers of the product or business tend to return to, continue to buy or in some other way not defe ...


References


Further reading

* {{cite book , last = Berry and Linoff , first = Michael J.A. and Gordon S. , title = Mastering Data Mining: The Art and Science of Customer Relationship Management , publisher =
John Wiley & Sons John Wiley & Sons, Inc., commonly known as Wiley (), is an American Multinational corporation, multinational Publishing, publishing company that focuses on academic publishing and instructional materials. The company was founded in 1807 and pr ...
, year = 2000 , isbn = 0-471-33123-6 , url-access = registration , url = https://archive.org/details/masteringdatamin00berr
Cached Insight paper on churn in the mobile communications industry.
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